Senate Honors Texas Medal of Arts Recipients

English Spanish
March 1, 2017

The Texas Medal of the Arts Award, presented by the Texas Cultural Trust, recognizes exceptional artists, as well as art institutions and businesses whose generosity has fostered artistic opportunity. In order to be selected, artists must not only be extraordinarily talented but also have vision and tremendous dedication.

The Texas Medal of the Arts Award highlights the importance and continued relevance of the arts in Texas. Senator Uresti offered his congratulations on the Senate Floor to the 2017 recipients and the Cultural Trust with Senate Resolution 265. 

The Award honors a variety of disciplines including architecture, journalism, dance, theatre, and music among others. The co-chairs for this year's awards include San Antonio natives Peter Holt and Guillermo Nicolas.

2017 marks the 17th anniversary of the Texas Medal of the Arts Award as they honored the lifetime achievements of Kenny Rogers, the patronage of The Tobin Endowment, literary arts achievements of John Phillip Santos, and various other individuals who have made significant contributions to the rich cultural tapestry of Texas.

Honoree John Phillip Santos is a writer, journalist, and documentary filmmaker from San Antonio. Mr. Santos's journalism has appeared in numerous publications including the San Antonio Express News as well as being archived in the Special Collections of the University of Texas San Antonio.

The Tobin Endowment, also honored in this year's recipients, is completing is 16th year of giving. The Tobin Endowment supports and encourages the arts, along with charitable, scientific, literary, and educational organizations, by offering grants to qualifying organizations.