Filing for 2018 Election Begins

English Spanish
December 1, 2017

Incumbents and candidates began filing for the 2018 election season on November 11th. Starting with the March 2018 party primaries, Texans will vote for the state's highest offices, including all members of the U.S House of Representatives and the Texas House and half of the Texas Senate. Candidates have until December 11th to file their applications, but we have already seen a number of developments.

Six long-serving Texas Congressman have announced their retirements. They are: Republicans Jeb Hensarling of Dallas, Ted Poe of Houston, Sam Johnson of Richardson, and Lamar Smith of San Antonio as well as Democrats Gene Green of Houston and Beto O'Rourke of El Paso.  This group makes up a stark 1/6 of the Texans in Congress.  

Officials shape policies affecting Texas schools, health, infrastructure, energy and more. It is important to stay engaged and turn out to vote in order to make your voice heard and hold officials accountable to the community.  For information about registering to vote, visit